Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

AHRC Research in Film Awards 2019 (Closing date: 20 June)

Submissions for the AHRC Research in Film Awards 2019 are now open. The Awards, which are now in their fifth year, showcase new and emerging talent in filmmaking linked to arts and humanities research and celebrate the best of a growing number of high-quality short films (defined as no more than 30 minutes in length) that bring arts and humanities research to a wider public audience.

This year’s awards categories are as follows:

  • Best Research Film of the Year
  • Doctoral Award or Early Career Film
  • Mental Health and Wellbeing Award (public category)
  • Social Media Short Award
  • Inspiration Award (public category)

This year the public can enter two categories: one about mental health and wellbeing, another which has been inspired by the art and humanities. This could be a book, play, performance or exhibition which has fired the imagination. Previous Research in Film Awards winners have gone on to produce further films as a result of the exposure or have gone on to secure funding, impact policymaking and secured airtime on national radio. The Awards offer a unique opportunity for filmmakers working in the field of research to showcase their talent, while acknowledging the UK’s leading arts and humanities researchers and practitioners.

One of the judges, TV producer, Steve Evanson, has put together his top tips on how to create an award winning film. Read his feature to help ensure your film is as successful as it can be.

If you’ve ever wondered how to approach commissioning editors, RIFA judge and Head of All 4, Channel 4 Television, Richard Davidson-Houston, provides invaluable advice on what film commissioners look for and how best to pitch your idea.

Further information, eligibility criteria and details on how to apply here.